Splunk Search

How do you extract multiple substrings from the following events?

atul9771
Engager

I'm new to splunk.

I have a log event in the following format. The report should capture the Hostname, Agentname and Resource. Also, I'd like to remove the duplicate entries.
[Event] [Hostname] [Date/Time] [ClientIP] [UserDN] [Agentname] [Action] [Resource]
[TransactionID] [Reason] [Status Message] [Impersonator Name] [Impersonator Dir Name]

and log entry example is below

AuthAccept Hostname [03/Dec/2018:17:43:06 -0600] "ClientIP UserDN" "Agentname GET /WMT_Logon/Account/LogOn?ViewFlag=false" [idletime=1800;maxtime=603603054;authlevel=5;] [0]  [] []
CN =    FirstName LastName host =   HostName source =   c:\Program Files (x86)\ca\siteminder\log\smaccess-dotoksm03pv.log sourcetype =  smaccess

I want hostname, Agentname, Resource and Resource in above example is /WMT_Logon/Account/LogOn?ViewFlag=false. But could be different for every event.

I appreciate any help writing this search string. Thanks

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

nagarjuna280
Communicator

try this

index=* host=* sourcetype = smaccess | rex field=_raw "\w+\s+(?P[^\s]+)([^\]]+)\]\s\"(?P[^\"]+)\"\s\"(?P[^\s]+)\s(?P[^\s]+)\s(?P[^\"]+)\""  
 | table Hostname, Agentname  Resource | dedup Hostname, Agentname  Resource

View solution in original post

0 Karma

nagarjuna280
Communicator

try this

index=* host=* sourcetype = smaccess | rex field=_raw "\w+\s+(?P[^\s]+)([^\]]+)\]\s\"(?P[^\"]+)\"\s\"(?P[^\s]+)\s(?P[^\s]+)\s(?P[^\"]+)\""  
 | table Hostname, Agentname  Resource | dedup Hostname, Agentname  Resource
0 Karma

atul9771
Engager

I figure out the error, Instead of P , you need to put actual field name. here is final syntax. Thanks for your help
(?[^\s]+)([^]]+)]\s\"(?[^\"]+)\"\s\"(?[^\s]+)\s(?[^\s]+)\s(?[^\"]+)

0 Karma

nagarjuna280
Communicator

this site is hiding some characters, that is why you are not able to see the whole regex (fieldnames),