Security

How to aviod or figure out pool size in Splunk?

prasadjvv522
Explorer

Hi All,

I am new to splunk, I have 14 node cluster in that splunk master and slaves.

Searching something in splaunk is getting error, Licence violation.

In licence violation having alerts like this

Sep 26, 2014 12:00:00 AM
(1 week ago) This pool has exceeded its configured poolsize=524288000 bytes. A warning has been recorded for all members splunk01.XXXXXXXXX.priv auto_generated_pool_free free license_window

This pool contains slave(s) with 18 warnings splunk01.XXXXXXXX.priv auto_generated_pool_free free pool_warning_count

Please help me how to avoid licence violation. and how to figure out the pool size (where to configured the pool size).

Note:- In the default DB having index size is like GB's ,this is the reason for licence violation.

Thanks,

Prasad

1 Solution

jrodman
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

The pool size is only configurable by allocating license quantity to pools. If you had multiple licenses, or wanted to allocate some amount of your license to one set of systems and another amount of your license to another set of systems, then this would make sense.

The documentation for this sort of thing is here:
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/Admin/HowSplunklicensingworks
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/Admin/Createalicensepool

However, the real issue here is you're trying to set up a 14-node cluster with a 500MB a day license. You're going to need a bigger license.

If you have gone over the license with a free license 3 times in 30 days, search will be locked out. You can clear this with splunk clean eventdata at the command line by dropping all your indexed data. With a paid (enterprise) license, the product will not lock out search unless you go over the license 5 times in 30 days.

View solution in original post

jeremiahc4
Builder