Splunk Search

Search to find Agent/Server with No "Reconnect" Event

Johnstone234
Loves-to-Learn

Hi,

I am hoping to get some help in creating a search, which will be turned into an alert - I am working with system logs from a monitoring device, where a log is submitted when any one of ~600 servers go down and while the server stays down a new log is dropped every ~10 mins, then if the server comes back up a "Reconnect" log is submitted.

I am wanting to get the search to return me the name of a server/agent that has had at least 1 "disconnect" but no "reconnect" entry within a time period and then once a reconnect is received - the server is no longer listed.

I am not very experienced with Splunk and thus far only have a search that is returning me counts of both types of events (connect/disconnect):

index="XXXlogs" sourcetype="systemlog" eventid="*connectserver" devicename="device1" logdescription="Agent*" |  stats count by win_server, event_id

Any help is appreciated.

Labels (2)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @Johnstone234,

if you want to have an alert when a server (with Splunk Universal Forwarder on board) is down, you should create a lookup (called e.g. "perimeter.csv") containing all the servers to monitor (containing at least one field called e.g. "host") and then run a simple search like:

| metasearch index=_internal
| eval host=lower(host)
| stats count BY host
| append [ | inputlookup perimeter.csv | eval host=lower(host), count=0 | fields host count ]
| stats sum(count) AS total BY host
| where total=0

you could schedule this alert e.g. every 5 minutes and have a message if in the last 5 minutes a server (of your list) didn't send logs.

The perimeter.csv lookup can be manually managed or using a scheduled search (e.g. every night); I prefer to manually manage the list to have more control on the perimeter to monitor.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

Johnstone234
Loves-to-Learn

Hi @gcusello