Splunk Search

How to sum a field grouped by months using a date field

handygecko
Explorer

I'm new to splunk and I'm still struggling to grasp how it works. I uploaded data from a simple csv file. Data is as follows:

Column A       Column B
1/1/2012         9
2/1/2012         5
3/1/2012         17
1/17/2012       11

I would like to sum column B by Month as follows:

Jan                20
Feb               5
Mar              17

Ultimately, I'm looking to create a bar chart displaying this data by year. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Ayn
Legend

Assuming you have your timestamps working correctly:

... | timechart span=1mon sum(B)

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Ayn
Legend

Assuming you have your timestamps working correctly:

... | timechart span=1mon sum(B)

0 Karma

Ayn
Legend

Splunk shold do this by default. It'll use the first date it encounters in each event.

0 Karma

handygecko
Explorer

You got me going on the right track. Splunk was failing to parse timestamps. I managed to index several files properly, however, a couple files require a more complex regular expression for the preface pattern. The events are structured as follows:

"Justin Lang:2465-1-Lang","164","10/4/2012","10/25/2012",,4345.00,""

Do you happen to know how to write a regular expression that would allow splunk to parse the first date in the event: "10/4/2012"? I do not know regex very well. I tried "",""," Thanks for your help!

0 Karma
Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Built-in Service Level Objectives Management to Bridge the Gap Between Service & ...

Wednesday, May 29, 2024  |  11AM PST / 2PM ESTRegister now and join us to learn more about how you can ...

Get Your Exclusive Splunk Certified Cybersecurity Defense Engineer Certification at ...

We’re excited to announce a new Splunk certification exam being released at .conf24! If you’re headed to Vegas ...