Splunk Search

How get reults to say N/A while using the "inputlookup" command?

SubtotalAMG
Loves-to-Learn Lots

I'm not a programmer but I am trying to get the display of my graph to depict "No Results" or "N/A" when the Where command can't find the specific name within the csv. Rather what I get is all of the servers listed within the excel. Here is quick example:

This works for me

index=House sourcetype=LivingRoom
[ | inputlookup HouseInventory.csv | where Room="Bathroom" | return host=$X_Furniture ]
| timechart span=5m count by host

But what happens is if a user types "where Room="Bathr00mZ"....see below......I get a list of all the servers listed in my csv which is what I don't want. I rather have it say "No Results" or "N/A"

[ | inputlookup HouseInventory.csv | where Room="Bathr00mZ" | return host=$X_Furniture ]

I've tried this:

[ | inputlookup HouseInventory.csv | where Room="Bathr00mZ" | eval res=if(Room=="Bathroom",X_Furniture,"Null") ]

But this still comes back with the list of all the servers. 

Labels (1)
Tags (4)
0 Karma

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Use this construct

[ | inputlookup HouseInventory.csv 
  | where Room="Bathroom" 
  | rename X_Furniture as host
  | appendpipe [
    | stats count | where count=0
    ``` Add in what you want the default to be ```
    | eval host="*"
  ]
]

I assume the field in the lookup that corresponds to host is X_Furniture

You just need to let the subsearch return and it will effectively return host=bla

The appendpipe will make host=* if there are no values from the inputlookup - so set that value to be the default you want.

0 Karma

SubtotalAMG
Loves-to-Learn Lots

Still the same results...still displays all of them.

0 Karma

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Exactly how it should work if you set = *

If you want the search to return NO results, you need to give the subsearch something that will make the outer search not find anything, e.g. host=_there_is_no_such_host