Splunk Enterprise

What is Splunk buckets default retention period?

prasireddy
Explorer

Hi Team,

I wanted to know what the default retention period of buckets in Splunk i.e. (HOT, WARM, COLD, FROZEN, THAWED).
How can I know the retention period of each bucket and where can check the retention period of each bucket?
please could you help me with the location or path of each bucket's configurations in Splunk. Actually, I'm new to these bucket concepts. we have only 2 indexers ,1 license master and 1 search head.

Thanks,
Praseeda.

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Data retention is set on a per-index basis rather than per-bucket.  Retention settings apply only to hot, warm, and cold buckets.  Splunk does not manage frozen or thawed buckets.

You can find the default retention settings in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/default/indexes.conf, but those settings can be overridden by another indexes.conf file.  Use btool to see the current (on-disk) config:

splunk btool indexes list

There's a good .conf presentation on the topic at https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwj3_s6al-SAAxVxgIQIHZB8C_4Q...

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

prasireddy
Explorer

Hi @richgalloway

Hi @richgallowayrichgalloway, 

Actually, when I check in Setting-->Monitoring console--->Indexing--->Indexes and volumes---->Index Details: Instance but here in buckets I didn't see anything for the same I'm attaching screen shot. 
Please could you explain once? 

buckets.pngMicrosoftTeams-image (7).pngMicrosoftTeams-image (9).png

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Perhaps there is an error in the bucket searches.  You may be able to find and correct it by clicking on the "Open in search" icon (magnifying glass).

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.
0 Karma

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

If you have access to REST you could try to something like