Splunk Enterprise Security

Splunk Enterprise Security Correlation Searches resources consumption

splunky_diamond
Explorer

Hello Splunk community! I have started my journey with splunk one month ago and I am currently learning Splunk Enterprise Security. 

I have a very specific question, I am planning to use about 10-15 correlation searches in my ES and I would like to know if I need to upscale my resources for my Splunk machine, which is ubuntu server 20.04 with 32 GB RAM, 32 vCPU, and 200 GB hard disk. 

I am have all-in-one installation scenario because I am just learning the basics of Splunk at the moment, but I would like to know:

How much resources do correlation searches in Splunk consume? How much RAM and CPU separately does one average correlation search consume in Splunk Enterprise Security? 

Labels (1)
0 Karma

meetmshah
Contributor

Hello @splunky_diamond, As stated by 2 folks, resource consumption depends on multiple factors. If you are planning to enable ~15 use cases in ES for learning purpose with all-in-one test environment, 32 GB RAM, 32 vCPU, and 200 GB hard disk should be enough.

Base configuration for ES is as below - 

meetmshah_0-1714311733200.png

https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/ES/7.3.1/Install/DeploymentPlanning

0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

As @deepakc already mentioned, there are many factors for sizing _any_ Splunk installation, not even going into ES. And with ES even more so.

With ES there is much going on "under the hood" even before you enable any correlation searches (manging notables, updating threat intel, updating assets database and so on). Of course for any reasonabe use cases you also need decently configured data (you _will_ want those datamodels accelerated so you will use resources for summary-building searches).