Monitoring Splunk

Splunk speed performance

ArousOussema
Engager

Greetings,

I'm a student at the Hochschule Darmstadt in Germany. I'm currently working on a project for my university, where we’re trying to find a suitable Log management tool for our big data cluster. 

It will be so helpful if you can provide me with some information.

Equipment: 

We have 48 nodes :

28 x Dell PowerEdge C6220

2 Intel Xeon E5-2609 (4 Cores for each)

64 GB RAM

16 x 1 TB SATA 7.2 k

20 x Dell PowerEdge C6320

2 Intel Xeon E5-2620v2 (6 Cores for each)

128 GB RAM

16 x 1 TB SATA 7.2 k 

The nodes are connected with a high-bandwidth and low-latency network.

Every node generate for now 500 MB of logs daily, with the total of 24 GB logs daily 

The criteria we’re considering are as follows : 

1. The log management tool should be able to process the generated logs within 10 seconds

Generation ⇒ arrival. This means, from the log source to the universal forwarder until to be ready for search in Splunk

2.      Splunk UI interaction performs within 1 second

We can use 24 nodes in order to scale Splunk  in therfore accelerate the process.

Can Splunk meet these criteria? 

Are there any calculations we can do on the speed performance so if the log's quantity changed we can maintain response tau of 10 seconds? 

Your help is very much appreciated.

Labels (1)
0 Karma

cpetterborg
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

See System Requirements for more information on your hardware needs