Dashboards & Visualizations

Why is Firewall Dashboard dropdown not triggering any data?

cpsec
Loves-to-Learn Lots

Hello,

I'm new to Splunk and currently working on a firewall dashboard. I'm encountering issues with the coding, specifically regarding a dropdown firewall panel. My goal is to create a dropdown menu that lists 33 different firewalls, and when a firewall is selected, other panels should display the corresponding data. However, I'm facing a problem where selecting a firewall doesn't trigger any data to appear. I'm wondering if there's something missing or if I made a mistake in my implementation. Additionally, I have 333 host types, and I'm unsure of the best way to condense them into a single field.

Below, you'll find the code for my firewall dropdown menu and a total result panel. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you kindly.

<panel>
<input type="dropdown" token="firewall_token" searchWhenChanged="true">
<label>Search by Firewall:</label>
<choice value="All">All Firewalls</choice>
<choice value="ais-fw-a">Firewall 1</choice>
<choice value="ais-fw-b">Firewall 2</choice>
<!-- Add more choices for different firewalls -->
</input>
</panel>

<panel>
<title>Total Results</title>
<chart>
<search>
<query>
index=firewalls earliest="$time_earliest$" latest="$time_latest$"
| stats count by source
</query>
</search>
<option name="charting.chart">bar</option>
<option name="charting.chart.showDataLabels">all</option>
<option name="charting.drilldown">all</option>
<option name="charting.axisLabelsX.majorLabelStyle.overflowMode">ellipsisMiddle</option>
</chart>
</panel>

Labels (3)
Tags (2)
0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Have you run the Total Result query in a search window to verify it returns results?  If the source field is null then stats will return nothing.  Also, verify the time_earliest and time_latest tokens exist.

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.
0 Karma

cpsec
Loves-to-Learn Lots