Dashboards & Visualizations

Dashboard to show top non-compliance controls

nehashanker
Explorer

Greetings All,

I am very new to splunk and am creating a dashboard to show top non-compliances. For the below data, I want to display top non-compliant controls (example output also mentioned below)

Could anyone please let me know how can I write a search query for the same?

Thanks in advance.

Event_ID: abc1

Compliance_result: Non-Compliant

Eval_results: {

required_tags: {

compliance: Compliant

}

encryption_enabled:{

compliance: Non-Compliant

}

public_access:{

}

policy_enabled:{

}

}

Event_ID: abc2

Compliance_result: Non-Compliant

Eval_results: {

required_tags: {

}

encryption_enabled:{

}

public_access:{

}

policy_enabled:{

}

}

Generate Table in the below format -

Top Non Compliance controls:

public_access - 2

encryption_enabled -1

Labels (3)
0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Please share the raw events (anonymised of course), not a formatted version, e.g. are your actual event JSON format, or partially, and, if so, is the JSON already extracted into a field? Please use a code block </> to share the raw events so it is more accurate and easier to use

0 Karma

nehashanker
Explorer
additional_metrics: { [+]
   }
   event_id: abc123
   eval_results: { [+]
   }
   compliance_result: Non-Compliant
   timestamp: 2021-10-07 16:27:48.523
   version: jpltest

Upon expanding eval_results - 

eval_results: { [-]
     Required_Tags: { [+]
     }
     Valid_ASV_BA_Tags: { [+]
     }
     check_in_transit_encryption: { [+]
     }
   }

Upon expanding each of the following sections - 

Required_Tags: { [-]
       compliant: Compliant
       controlVersion: 1.0
       evaluationDetails:
       riskRating: Low
     }

Valid_ASV_BA_Tags: { [-]
       compliant: Non-Compliant
       evaluationDetails: Neither the ASV nor BA tag values(case sensitive) were found on the approved list.
       riskRating: Low
     }