2023-10-05Banana1009
2023-10-06Banana876

2023-10-02

Others1265
2023-10-03Others1400
2023-10-04Others257
2023-10-05Others109
2023-10-06Others1709

I want to have this data displayed on a Dashboard as a multi-line chart, x-axis is the Date, y-axis is the Number of submissions, and there should be different color lines representing the different groups.  I am new to Splunk.  Very new.  I need succinct instructions pls.  Thanks!!!

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @dgwann,

let me understand: do you want to use DB-Connect to extract data from a DB saving them in an index and then search on the index or directly execute the query run-time on the DB and display results?

the second option doesn't consume license but surely will have very low performces because Splunk DB-Connect was created to extract data from a DB wexecuting query, not to execute runtime queries.

When you'll have the data in an index you can create your search using SPL, something like this:

index=your_index
| stats sum(Number_of_Submissions) AS Number_of_Submissions BY Date Group_name

if instead you want to run on line queries (I not hint this because it will be more than slowest!), you should try something like this:

| dbxquery query="<your_query>" connection="<mySQL<" 

for more details see at https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/DBX/3.14.1/DeployDBX/Commands

Ciao.

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @dgwann,

let me understand: do you want to use DB-Connect to extract data from a DB saving them in an index and then search on the index or directly execute the query run-time on the DB and display results?

the second option doesn't consume license but surely will have very low performces because Splunk DB-Connect was created to extract data from a DB wexecuting query, not to execute runtime queries.

When you'll have the data in an index you can create your search using SPL, something like this:

index=your_index